Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup
Search Collections

Perceval Gibbon:

An Inventory of His Papers at the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center

Creator Gibbon, Perceval, 1879-1926
Title Perceval Gibbon Papers
Dates: ca. 1900-1926
Extent 1.5 boxes (.7 linear feet)
Abstract: Handwritten manuscripts for 38 short stories and ten manuscript fragments comprise this collection. All but two of the short stories are uncollected, but may have been published in British or American periodicals.
RLIN Record # TXRC95-A37
Language English.

Open for research


Purchase, 1960

Processed by

Katie Salzmann, 1995


Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin

Perceval Gibbon, author and journalist, was born in Trelech, Wales, on November 4, 1879. He was the eldest son of the Rev. J. Morgan Gibbon, and was educated in the Moravian School, Königsfeld, Baden, Germany. Gibbon served in the merchant navy aboard British, French, and American ships, and travelled extensively throughout Europe, America, and Africa. His early works, particularly The Vrouw Grobelaar's Leading Cases (1905) and Souls in Bondage (1904), were influenced by his travels.

Gibbon's literary agency was J. B. Pinker and Son, and several of his short stories were published in British and American magazines such as McClure's Magazine and Collier's Weekly. Other works of Gibbon's that were published in book form include a collection of verse, African Items (1903); novels, Salvator (1908) and Margaret Harding (1911); short stories, The Adventures of Miss Gregory (1912), The Second-Class Passenger (1913), Those Who Smiled (1920), and The Dark Places (1926).

In addition to writing fiction, Gibbon was a war correspondent with the Italian Army for the New York Times during 1917 and 1918. He reported from the Isonzo, the Plave, the Carso, and elsewhere along the Italian front. In 1918 and 1919 he served as a Major in the Royal Marines.

Perceval Gibbon died in 1926.

New York Times, Obituary, June 1, 1926

Who Was Who in Literature- 1906-1934, p. 428-429

Cassell's Encyclopedia of World Literature, p. 1796

The Perceval Gibbon Papers, ca. 1900-1926 (bulk nd) document his career as an author. The collection consists only of works, which are arranged alphabetically by title. It includes 38 holograph manuscripts, all uncollected short stories except for two, "Margaret Harding" and "The Adventures with the Slave Dealer," published in 1911 and 1913 respectively. The other stories were possibly published in periodicals, or they may have remained unpublished. Also included are 10 untitled and undated manuscript fragments, several of which include drawings.

The collection reflects only Gibbon's career as the author of short fiction and does not include items related to his experiences as a war correspondent or journalist.

Other collections at the Ransom Center which give some insight into the life of Perceval Gibbon include those of R. A. Scott-James, Grant Richards, Joseph Conrad, and Edward Garnett.


Authors, English--20th century.

Document Types


First drafts.

"The Adventures With the Slave Dealer" [published in The Adventures of Miss Gregory, 1913] box 1 folder 1   
Arts and Craft              folder 2   
Baby              folder 3   
Between the Lights              folder 4   
The Breadwinner              folder 5   
The Car              folder 6   
A Citizen of the Roads              folder 7   
Confessors              folder 8   
The Dark Moment              folder 9   
A Debt of Honor              folder 10   
The Doctor              folder 11   
The Elopement              folder 12   
The Face              folder 13   
Falmouth for Orders              folder 14   
The Fear-Healer              folder 15   
The Gentleman Who Pays the Rent              folder 16   
High Stakes              folder 17   
A Holiday From Sin              folder 18   
The Hostage              folder 19   
A Hostage to Misfortune              folder 20   
Knave of Diamonds              folder 21   
The Last of the Duellists              folder 22   
Madame at Arms              folder 23   
A Man Before the Mast - II              folder 24   
A Man Before the Mast - IV              folder 25   
Mannasch              folder 26   
Instructions and corrections for Margaret Harding [1911]              folder 27   
Money's Worth              folder 28   
The Murderer              folder 29   
Picoron              folder 30   
Revenge              folder 31   
The Strong Arm              folder 32   
The Trader              folder 33   
The Tree-Maker              folder 34   
Vera              folder 35   
The Vulture              folder 36   
When Gentlefolk Meet              folder 37   
The Woman in the Shadow              folder 38   
Untitled fragments box 2 folder 1-10