University of Texas at Austin

The Greenwich Village Bookshop Door: A Portal to Bohemia, 1920-1925

Each signature may be linked to the others by up to 53 thematic connections. Some are common to many signatures; others highlight unusual, yet notable, associations and interests. Friendships are not represented because so many signers were friends. Go to "The Bohemians" to view and interact with all 53 connections.


Franklin Abbott

Achmed Abdullah

Mary Aldis

George William Amis

Sherwood Anderson

Egmont Arens

Mary Austin

Eugene S. Bagger


Winslow M. Bell

William Rose Benét

Florence Blackstone

Paul J. Blackstone

David William Bone

Albert Boni

Charles Boni

Ernest Augustus Boyd

Will Bradley

Berton Braley

Max M. Breslow

Heywood Broun

Albert Brush

Arthur Caesar

Henry Seidel Canby

Jonathan Cape

Gene Carr

Oscar Edward Cesare

Christine Challenger

Betty Ross Clarke

Helen Louise Cohen

Alta May Coleman

Seward Collins

Frank Conroy

George Cram Cook

John Cournos

Bosworth Crocker

J. Vincent Crowne

Homer Croy

Mary Carolyn Davies

Helena Smith Dayton

Fred Erving Dayton

Floyd Dell

S. A. DeWitt

Roy Dickinson

Charles Divine

Alice Willits Donaldson

John Dos Passos

Theodore Dreiser

Joseph Drum

Robert L. Eaton

Laurie York Erskine

Wilfred Ewart

Henry Guy Fangel

John Chipman Farrar

Hugh Ferriss

Arthur Davison Ficke

John Bernard Flannagan

Dwight Franklin

James Earle Fraser

Joseph Lewis French

Robert Frothingham

Barney Gallant

Porter Garnett

Susan Glaspell

Montague Glass

Joseph Gollomb

Herbert S. Gorman

Stephen Graham

Dorothy L. A. Grant

Harry Wagstaff Gribble

William Gropper

Louise Closser Hale

Harry Hansen

Sadakichi Hartmann

Josephine Herbst

John Herrmann

W. E. Hill

Elisabeth Sanxay Holding

Robert Cortes Holliday

Terence Holliday

Guy Holt

Holland Hudson

Peter Lord Templeton Hunt

Frank Townsend Hutchens

Lewis Jackson

Norman Jacobsen

Rutger Bleecker Jewett

Orrick Johns

Merle De Vore Johnson

Jeanne Judson

Harry Kemp

Bernice Lesbia Kenyon

John G. Kidd

William A. (William Albion) Kittredge

Eastwood Lane

Lawrence Langner

Christian Leden

Courtenay Lemon

Sinclair Lewis

Ludwig Lewisohn

Max Liebermann

Nicholas Vachel Lindsay

Preston Lockwood

Hendrick Willem Van Loon

Lingard Loud

Pierre Loving

Orson Lowell

C. R. Macauley

Kenneth Macgowan

Lawton Mackall

Hector MacQuarrie

John Albert Macy

Jane Mander

Don Marquis

H. A. Mathes

William McFee

Alexander McKay

Hawley McLanahan

Charles M. McLean

Ada Jaffray McVickar

Scudder Middleton

George Middleton

John Mistletoe

Roy Mitchell

Christopher Morley

Robert Nathan

Dudley Nichols

Robert Nichols

Charles Norman

Joseph Jefferson O'Neil

Florence O'Neill

Ivan Opffer

Martha Ostenso

Lou Paley

Edmund Lester Pearson

Basil H. Pillard

Ethel McClellan Plummer

Alexander Popini

William MacLeod Raine

Ben Ray Redman

Charles J. Reed

Lola Ridge

Felix Riesenberg

W. Adolphe Roberts

Edwin Arlington Robinson

Edwin (Ted) Meade Robinson

Bruce Rogers

L. Stuart Rose

Herb Roth

Edward Royce

Tony Sarg

Jacob Salwyn Schapiro

Walter Schnackenberg

Thomas Seltzer

Fern Forrester Shay

Margaret Badollet Caldwell Shotwell

Emil Siebern

Upton Sinclair

John Sloan

Thorne Smith

David Tosh Smith

Robert A. Smith

Charles Somerville

Vincent Starrett

Vilhjalmur Stefansson

Donald Ogden Stewart

Gordon Stiles

Emily Strunsky

Genevieve Taggard

Gardner Teall

Sara Teasdale

Lloyd M. Thomas

Basil Thompson

Paul Thompson

Helen Thurlow

Adolph Treidler

Peter Underhill

Harvey P. Vaughn

Walter Vodges

C. A. Voight

Mary Heaton Vorse

Webb Waldron

J. Leeming Walker

Foster Ware

John V. A. Weaver

Luther E. Widen

Edward Arthur Wilson

Lily Winner

Robert L. Wolf

Cuthbert Wright


Theodore F. Zucker




Franklin Abbott

William Rose Benét

David William Bone

Henry Seidel Canby

Homer Croy

Sinclair Lewis

Lawton Mackall

Don Marquis

Christopher Morley

Felix Riesenberg

Vincent Starrett

J. Leeming Walker

The Three Hours for Lunch Club was founded and dissolved before and after each meeting by its inventor, Christopher Morley. One of several clubs that Morley was to found over the years, including the Baker Street Irregulars in the 1930s, which continues to thrive today, the Three Hours for Lunch Club was at its most vibrant during the years of the bookshop’s operation. The membership fluctuated depending on who happened to be in town, and included Morley’s friends in the newspaper industry, ship captains, anyone else who Morley saw as “kinsprit.” Chances of membership presumably increased if the applicant enjoyed consuming and discussing good food, shandygaff, and fine tobacco. As Helen Oakley points out in her biography of Morley, another requirement for membership was an addiction to pranks, which were themselves an opportunity for members to display their cleverness. Morley’s magnetic personality and rapier wit was matched by that of the other Club members and the group grew in fame among New York’s literati over the years, due in no small part to Morley’s frequent descriptions of club meetings in his Bowling Green newspaper column. Lunches could take place anywhere--unlike those of the  Algonquin Round Table--in places as diverse as Greenwich Village taverns, elegant downtown restaurants, railway station food counters, and even aboard the ship Columbia courtesy of host and member David William Bone. One of Morley’s columns, “The Club at its Worst”(1923), captures the group’s spirit:


"A barbecue and burgoo of the Three Hours for Lunch Club was held, the club’s medical advisor acting as burgoomaster and Mr. Lawton Mackall, the managing director, as jest of honor. The news that Lawton was at large spread rapidly through the city, and the club safely gained the quiet haven of a Cedar Street chophouse. Here, when the members were duly squeezed into a stall, the Doctor gazed cheerfully upon Endymion and the Secretary who held the inward places. 'Now is my chance,' he cried, 'to kill two bards with one stone.'"







  • View larger image
  • X

    Creator: Digby, Kenelm, 1603-1665

    Title: The Closet of Sir Kenelm Digby Knight, Opened

    Description: Inscribed by William Rose Benet, Christopher Morley, David William Bone, Lawton Mackall, Howard Swiggett and Frank Shay. Front jacket flap removed and attached to inside front cover.

    Imprint: London: Philip Lee Warner, 1910

    Item Date: 1910

    Material Type: Monographs

    Curatorial Department: Book Collection

    Collection Name: Christopher Morley Library

    Stack Location: TX 705 D5 1910 MOR

    Copyright Notices: Some of the documents shown here are subject to U. S. copyright law. It is the user's sole responsibility to contact the copyright holder and secure any necessary copyright permission to publish documents, texts, and images from any holders of rights in these materials. As the owner of the physical object (not the underlying copyright), the Ransom Center requires that you also contact us if you wish to reproduce an image shown here in a print publication or electronically.

    Every effort has been made to trace copyright ownership and to obtain permission for reproduction. If you believe you are the copyright owner of an item on this site, and we have not requested your permission, please contact us.


  • View metadata

The Closet of Kenelm Digby Knight, Opened (London: Philip Lee Warner, 1910) 

William Rose Benét's inscription reads, "This being the charter of the Three Hours for Lunch Club." The book used to hold the charter is a seventeenth-century cookbook by Kenelm Digby, an eccentric scientist known for his recipe for mead, among other things. Digby is considered responsible for the design of the modern wine bottle, a fact likely appreciated by club members.